Call for Papers

BIOSIG 2018

17th International Conference of the Biometrics Special Interest Group

26.-28.09.2018, Darmstadt, Germany

http://www.biosig.de



Biometrics Special Interest Group 🐠 📙 📙

in cooperation with













Biometrics provides efficient and reliable solutions to recognize individuals. With increasing number of identity theft and miss-use incidents we do observe a significant fraud in e-commerce and thus growing interests on trustworthiness of person authentication. Nowadays we find biometric applications in areas like border control, national ID cards, e-banking, e-commerce, e-health etc. Large-scale applications such as the European Union SmartBorder Concept, the Visa Information System (VIS) and Unique Identification (UID) in India require high accuracy and also reliability, interoperability, scalability and usability. Many of these are joint requirements also for forensic applications.

Multimodal biometrics combined with fusion techniques can improve recognition performance. Efficient searching or indexing methods can accelerate identification efficiency. Additionally, quality of captured biometric samples can strongly influence the performance. Moreover, mobile biometrics is an emerging area and biometrics based smartphones can support deployment and acceptance of biometric systems.

However, concerns about security and privacy cannot be neglected. The relevant techniques in the area of presentation attack detection (liveness detection) and template protection are about to supplement biometric systems, in order to improve fake resistance, prevent potential attacks such as cross matching, identity theft etc.

The BIOSIG 2018 conference addresses these issues and will present innovations and best practices that can be transferred into future applications. The conference is jointly organized by the Competence Center for Applied Security Technology (CAST), the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), the European Association for Biometrics (EAB), the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission (JRC), the TeleTrusT-Association, the Norwegian Biometrics Laboratory (NBL), the Center for Research in Security and Privacy (CRSIP), the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research







IGD, IET Biometrics Journal and the special interest group BIOSIG of the Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI). The conference will be technically co-sponsored by IEEE and papers will be added to IEEE Xplore.

We invite stakeholders and technical experts to submit original research papers. Industrial contributions presenting lessons learnt from practical usage, case study, recent results of prototypes, are also welcomed.

Important Dates

30.05.2018	Deadline for submissions
20.07.2018	Notification of authors via e-mail
20.08.2018	Deadline for final papers (ready for press)
24./25.09.2018	EAB-Research Project Conference
26.09.2018	Satellite Workshop TTT Working Group
26.09.2018	EAB European Research and Industry Award
27./28.09.2018	Main Conference: Talks and Presentations
28.09.2018	BIOSIG Best Paper Award

Invited Talks

TBA

Special Interest Group BIOSIG

The BIOSIG Group is dedicated to the foundations of biometrics. Its objective is to to link practical experience with academic innovations. Thus the Special Interest Group BIOSIG together with its co-organizers is providing with its annual conference a suitable platform to work on these issues.

Topics of Interest

Topics of the conference include but are not limited to: Biometric standards and interoperability, multimodal and multi-biometrics. security analysis of biometric components or systems, on-card comparison, fake resistance, liveness detection, aging of reference data, template protection, de-identification, user interface design for biometric systems, biometric performance measurement, sample quality, best practices, usability, continuous authentication, forensics and other emerging applications, ethical, legal and sociotechnological aspects, biometrics for public administrations.

Organizing Committee

General Chair: Christoph Busch

Program Chairs: Antitza Dantcheva, Christian Rathgeb, Andreas Uhl

Publication Chair: Arslan Brömme Publicity Chair: Victor Philip Busch

Local Chairs: Alexander Nouak, Claudia Prediger

Program Committee

Harald Baier (HDA, DE) Oliver Bausinger (BSI, DE) Piotr Bilinski (Univ. Oxford. UK) Thirimachos Bourlai (WVU, US) Patrick Bours (NTNU, NO) Sebastien Brangoulo (Morpho, FR) Andreas Braun (FHG IGD, DE) Ralph Breithaupt (BSI, DE) Julien Bringer (Morpho, FR) Arslan Bro mme (GI/BIOSIG, DE) Christoph Busch (CAST-Forum DE) Victor-Philipp Busch (Sybuca, DE) Patrizio Campisi (Uni Roma 3, IT) Cunjian Chen (MSU, US) Nathan Clarke (CSCAN, UK) Adam Czaika (NASK, PL) Farzin Deravi (UKE, UK) Antitza Dantcheva (INRIA, FR Martin Drahansky (BUT CZ) Andrzej Drygajlo (EPFL, CH Julian Fierrez (UAM, ES) Simone Fischer-Hübner (KAU, SE Lothar Fritsch (KAU, SE) Steven Furnell (CSCAN, UK) Sonia Garcia (TSP FR) Marta Gomez-Barrero (HDA, DE) Patrick Grother (NIST, US) Olaf Henniger (FHG IGD, DE)

Heinz Hofbauer (COSY, AT) Abdenour Hadid (UO, FI) Detlef Hu hnlein (ecsec DE) Christiane Kaplan (softpro, DE) Stefan Katzenbeisser (TUD, DE) Tom Kevenaar (GenKey, NL) Ulrike Korte (BSI, DE) Aiay Kumar (Poly HK) Young-Bin Kwon (CAU, KR) Herbert Leitold (a-sit, AT) Guoqiang Li (NTNU, NO) Stan Li (CBSR, CN) Paulo Lobato Correira (IST PT) Davide Maltoni (UBO, IT) Johannes Merkle (secunet, DE Didier Menwly (NEL NL) Emilio Mordini (CSSC, IT) Kamal Nasrollahi (AAU, DK) Elaine Newton (NIST US) Mark Nixon (UoS, UK) Alexander Nouak (Fraunhofer DE) Markus Nuppeney (BSI, DE) Hisao Ogata (Hitachi, JP) Martin Olsen (Fingerprints, NO Javier Ortega-Garcia (UAM, ES) Michael Peirce (Daon IR) Dijana Petrovska (TSP, FR) Ioannis Pitas (AUT, GR) Fernando Podio (NIST, US)

Kiran Raja (NTNU, NO) R. Ramachandra (NTNU, NO) Christian Rathoeh (HDA DE) Arun Ross (MSU, US) Heiko Roßnagel (Fhg IAO, DE) Raul Sanchez-Reillo (UC3M ES Stephanie Schuckers (ClU, US) Günter Schumacher (IRC IT) Takashi Shinzaki (Fujitsu, JP) Max Snijder (EAB, NL) Luis Soares (ISCTE-IUL, PT Luuk Spreeuwers (UTW, NL) S. Z. Sved Idrus (UniMAP, MY) Elham Tabassi (NIST, US) Tieniu Tan (NLPR, CN) Juan Tapia (UNAB,CL) Massimo Tistarelli (UNISS, IT) Dimitrios Tzovaras (CfRaT, GR) Andreas Uhl (COSY AT) Markus Ullmann (BSI, DE) Raymond Veldhuis (UTW NI. Anne Wang (Gemalto, US) Daishi Watabe (SIT, JP) Jim Wayman (SJSU, US) Andreas Wolf (BDR DE) Bian Yang (NTNU, NO)